The Spanish Love Deception- Elena Armas

The Spanish Love Deception is a romantic comedy novel where the main character Lina has to find a fake boyfriend for her sister’s wedding at very short notice. This story is your typical fake dating, friends to lovers story so if you like those tropes, this is most likely the book for you. I decided to read this one after discovering how popular it was on booktok/bookstagram.

I found this difficult to get into at the start as I really have to be in the mood for romance and those tropes aren’t really my favourite, however once I got a third of the way through, I could definitely see the draw. It started off slow and then seemed perhaps a little rushed at the end so I would say the pacing was off slightly.

As for the characters, I didn’t feel that connected or attached to them which is perhaps why I didn’t feel enthralled by the story, however they were all very likeable (except Daniel) and I loved the strong sense of family and loyalty this story presented.

In regards to the plot and setting I was a little disappointed. The book is set in both Spain and England and going into this I thought we would predominantly be based in Spain (as that is where the wedding is set) however, most of the story felt like it was set in England and so perhaps that is why I feel a little bit let down. I found the story to be very predictable and a little bit cliché but I guess that comes with the genre and the tropes already discussed and so should be expected. I personally prefer my reads to have more plot twists and cliff-hangers and if you are the same then perhaps this book isn’t for you.

Overall, I would say this is an easy, fun and romantic holiday read, perfect for the summer months, however, don’t go into this expecting any ground-breaking plot twists. This is perfect for rom com fans and for some reason gave vibes from the film The Proposal.

Star Rating: ⭐⭐⭐

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started